Zoom-Zoom+Black contrastBlue contrastWhite contrast

French

How to use the speech recognition tool?

Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria Careggi, Firenze, Italia 

Hôpital Universitaire Careggi, Florence, Italie

Hôpital

L'Hôpital universitaire de Careggi est le plus grand hôpital polyclinique de Florence et l'un des principaux hôpitaux d'Italie. L'hôpital assure la prise en charge des troubles oculaires rares les plus significatifs (dystrophies rétiniennes et choroïdiennes héréditaires), du kératocône, des dystrophies cornéennes et des neuropathies optiques héréditaires. Les patients sont référés par les structures périphériques des services de santé nationaux (cliniques et hôpitaux locaux).

 

Le Centre effectue une gestion complète des patients atteints de troubles oculaires rares basée sur la collaboration de différents professionnels qui interagissent pour assurer une prise en charge globale du patient. Les patients sont conscients de qui effectue leurs soins et une relation continue entre les patients et le médecin traitant est assurée si le patient le demande. Des traducteurs de langue maternelle pour différentes langues sont présents sur demande. Un document d'information sur les activités et l'organisation du Centre est disponible en ligne et est fourni au patient pendant le conseil génétique avant les tests génétiques. Les patients sont examinés par un ophtamologue spécialisé dans les troubles rares et les maladies génétiques de l'oeil, puis subissent une série d'examens spécifiques tels que la périmétrie automatique, OCT (tomographie par cohérence optique) de dernière génération, angiographie OCT, rétinographie à grand champ, autofluorescence, imagerie optique adaptative, tests électrophysiologiques, carte cornéenne, segment antérieur OCT. De plus, les patients s'adressent au conseil génétique et à l'analyse génétique moléculaire pour la détection de possibles mutations pathogènes.

 

Si possible, les complications de la maladie sont traitées médicalement ou chirurgicalement. Les patients sont informés des développements de recherche possibles dans le domaine et peuvent être inclus dans les essais cliniques en cours. L'évaluation des cas syndromiques est partagée entre ophtalmologistes et autres spécialistes comme les néphrologues, les neurologues, les spécialistes en médecine interne, etc. Enfin, le Centre travaille en étroite collaboration avec l'association de patients Retina Italia. Certains représentants de l'Association sont généralement présents dans la zone de l'hôpital, juste à proximité des salles où les patients reçoivent leur consultation médicale. Le personnel médical et de laboratoire du Centre participe habituellement aux réunions de l'association de patients, offrant des explications sur différents problèmes médicaux et étant disponible pour répondre aux questions des patients.

 

Implication ERN-EYE:

Andrea Sodi, member of WG1WG5WG6

RetinalLow visionGenetic diagnosis

Andrea SodiPhoto Andrea Sodi

Ophthalmologist and ERN-EYE Hospital Coordinator, Member of the Board of the Italian Society of Genetic Ophthalmology and presently Secretary of the same Association; member of the Board for rare diseases and coordinator for rare eye diseases of the Tuscany Region; member of the board of the French speaking Society of Ophthalmic Genetics.

 

Florence 

Careggi University Hospital, University of Florence, Italy

Largo Brambilla 3, 50134, Florence, Italy

055 794 111; 055 794 7790

 

Website

Tel :(+ 39) 055 794 111 

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

This ERN is supported by:

English

Navigation :

How to use the speech recognition tool?

Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria Careggi, Firenze, Italia 

Careggi University Hospital, Florence, Italy

Healthcare provider(HCP)

Careggi University Hospital – HCP (the largest polyclinic Hospital in Florence) is one of the main Hospital in Italy. The HCP provides the management of the most significant rare eye disorders (inherited retinal and choroidal dystrophies), keratoconus, corneal dystrophies, and inherited optic neuropathies. The patients are referred by the peripheral structures of the National Health Services (local Clinics and Hospitals).

 

The Center provides a comprehensive management of the patients with rare eye disorders based on the collaboration of different professionals who interact to assure a global care of the patient. The patients are aware of who is providing their care and a continuous relationship between the patients and the referring  physician is assured if requested by the patient. Mother language translators for different languages are assured on demand. An informative document about the activities and the organization of the Center is available online and is provided to the patient during genetic counseling before genetic testing. The patients are examined by an ohthamologist with a specific background for rare disorders and genetic eye diseases and then undergo a series of specifically refined investigations like automatic perimetry, last generation OCT (Optical Coherence Tomography), OCT Angiography, Wide Field Retinography, Wide Field Autofluorescence, Adaptive Optics Imaging, Electrophysiological Tests, Corneal Map, Anterior Segment OCT. Moreover the patients are addressed to Genetic Counseling and to molecular genetic analysis for the detection of possible pathogenic mutations.

 

If possible the complications of the disease are medically or surgically treated. The patients are informed of the possible research developments in the field and are considered for being included in ongoing clinical trials. The evaluation of syndromic cases is shared among ophthalmologists and other specialists like nephrologists, neurologists, internal medicine specialists, etc. Finally the Center works in close connection with the patients' association Retina Italia. Some representatives of the Association are usually present in the hospital area just close the rooms where the patients receive their medical consultation. The medical and laboratory staff of the Center usually participates to the patients' association Meetings offering explanation about different medical issues and being available to answer to patients' question.

 

ERN-EYE Involvement:

Andrea Sodi, member of WG1, WG5, WG6

RetinalLow visionGenetic diagnosis

Andrea SodiPhoto Andrea Sodi

Ophthalmologist and ERN-EYE Hospital Coordinator, Member of the Board of the Italian Society of Genetic Ophthalmology and presently Secretary of the same Association; member of the Board for rare diseases and coordinator for rare eye diseases of the Tuscany Region; member of the board of the French speaking Society of Ophthalmic Genetics.

 

Florence 

Careggi University Hospital, University of Florence, Italy

Largo Brambilla 3, 50134, Florence, Italy

055 794 111; 055 794 7790

 

Website

Tel :(+ 39) 055 794 111 

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

This ERN is supported by: